Your browser version is outdated. We recommend that you update your browser to the latest version.

Thirteen New Elementary Schools in Diocese

Posted 9/28/2020

Thirteen New Elementary School opened in Diocese - 1911-1925

Our Lady of Perpetual Help Parish and SchoolOur Lady of Perpetual Help Parish and SchoolA source of joy to the community during the third 25 years was the opening of a number of parochial schools in the diocese.  A source of joy, for the nuns had never lost sight of the fact that the parochial school, the backbone of the diocese, is the firing line of their educational work. Here they met the largest number of children and their parents; and perhaps exert their widest influence. The record showed quite clearly the steady onward strength of Catholic education in Toledo as well as in Northwest Ohio.

In Toledo, the Ursulines opened in 1911, St. Agnes; in 1914, Cathedral and St. Theresa; in 1918, Our Lady of Perpetual Help; in 1919, St. John; and in 1921 replaced the Sisters of Mercy at St. Thomas Aquinas.

The schools opening outside Toledo during this period were St. Elizabeth, Richfield Center in 1915; St. Rose, Perrysburg, 1916; St. Gerard, Lima, 1918; Mother of Sorrows, North Auburn, 1918; St. Boniface, Oak Harbor, 1919; Immaculate Conception, Port Clinton, 1925; and Most Pure Heart of Mary, Shelby, 1923.  Because of the rapid growth in enrollment in the Toledo schools, the needs of Mary Manse College and St. Ursula Academy, and the lack of personnel, the Ursulines in time relinquished a number of schools which were taken over by other communities.


The material quoted here is taken from A Tree in the Valley by Sr. Lelia Mahoney.